### NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION

### Notice of Permit Applications Received Under the Antarctic Conservation Act of 1978

**AGENCY:** National Science Foundation. **ACTION:** Notice of Permit Applications Received under the Antarctic Conservation Act of 1978, Public Law 95–541.

SUMMARY: The National Science Foundation (NSF) is required to publish a notice of permit applications received to conduct activities regulated under the Antarctic Conservation Act of 1978. NSF has published regulations under the Antarctic Conservation Act at Title 45 Part 670 of the Code of Federal Regulations. This is the required notice of permit applications received.

**DATES:** Interested parties are invited to submit written data, comments, or views with respect to this permit application by October 31, 2013. This application may be inspected by interested parties at the Permit Office, address below.

ADDRESSES: Comments should be addressed to Permit Office, Room 755, Division of Polar Programs, National Science Foundation, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230.

# **FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:** Adrian Dahood, ACA Permit Officer, at the above address or

ACApermits@nsf.gov or (703) 292–7149.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The National Science Foundation, as directed by the Antarctic Conservation Act of 1978 (Pub. L. 95–541), as amended by the Antarctic Science, Tourism and Conservation Act of 1996, has developed regulations for the establishment of a permit system for various activities in Antarctica and designation of certain animals and certain geographic areas a requiring special protection. The regulations establish such a permit system to designate Antarctic Specially Protected Areas.

### **Application Details**

### 1. Applicant

Andrew Klein, Department of Geography, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas.

Permit Application: 2014–021.
Activity for Which Permit is
Requested: ASPA; Due to change in
scope of the research, Andrew Klein has
withdrawn his application for ACA
permit 2014–012 and replaced it with
this application which better describes
his field work.

This permit would allow entry to a number of ASPAs in the vicinities of McMurdo Station and Palmer Station for the purpose of collecting soil and marine sediment samples. The samples would be taken as part of the ongoing effort to monitor the spatial scale of human impacts in Antarctica. Samples taken near Palmer Station will be compared with those taken during the Bahia Pariso spill, which occurred near Palmer Station in 1989. Sampling sites would be situated to avoid disturbing native birds and mammals.

The applicants request entry to the Barwick and Balham Valleys (ASPA 123) to collect surface soil samples for geochemical analysis. This effort would support the ASPA's values to be protected by providing baseline measurements on the level and extent of human contamination in areas of known human disturbance. This baseline is critical for future scientific work in the Dry Valleys which may use the site for comparisons to other Dry Valley sites which are more routinely used for scientific research. Without accurate baseline data such future studies could incorrectly assume the area is pristine. The work falls within what is allowed by the current management plan as "Essential management activities, including monitoring and inspection" as described in section 7(iii) of the ASPA's management plan.

Location: AŠPA 113 Litchfield Island; ASPA 116 New College Valley; ASPA 123 Barwick and Balham Valleys ASPA 124 Cape Crozier; ASPA 131 Canada Glacier; ASPA 138 Linnaeus Terrace ASPA 139 Biscoe Point; ASPA 155 Cape Evans; ASPA 157 Backdoor Bay; ASPA 158 Hut Point; ASPA 172 Lower Taylor Glacier and Blood Falls; ASMA 2 McMurdo Dry Valleys; ASMA 7 Southwest Anvers Island and Palmer Basin.

Dates: November 12, 2013 to April 30, 2017.

### Nadene G. Kennedy,

Polar Coordination Specialist, Division of Polar Programs.

[FR Doc. 2013–23892 Filed 9–30–13; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 7555–01–P

# NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION SAFETY BOARD

#### **SES Performance Review Board**

**AGENCY:** National Transportation Safety Board.

**ACTION:** Notice.

**SUMMARY:** Notice is hereby given of the appointment of members of the National Transportation Safety Board, Performance Review Board (PRB).

#### FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Emily T. Carroll, Chief, Human Resources Division, Office of Administration, National Transportation Safety Board, 490 L'Enfant Plaza SW., Washington, DC 20594–0001, (202)314–6233.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: Section 4314(c)(1) through (5) of Title 5, United States Code requires each agency to establish, in accordance with regulations prescribed by the Office of Personnel Management, one or more SES Performance Review Boards. The board reviews and evaluates the initial appraisal of a senior executive's performance by the supervisor and considers recommendations to the appointing authority regarding the performance of the senior executive.

The following have been designated as members of the Performance Review Board of the National Transportation Safety Board:

The Honorable Christopher A. Hart, Member, National Transportation Safety Board; PRB Chair.

The Honorable Robert L. Sumwalt, III; Member, National Transportation Safety Board.

David K. Tochen, General Counsel, National Transportation Safety Board.

Florence A. Carr, Deputy Managing Director, Federal Maritime Commission.

Jerold Gidner, Deputy Director, Office of Strategic Employee and Organizational Development, Department of the Interior.

David L. Mayer, Managing Director, National Transportation Safety Board (substitute only for Mr. Tochen's rating review).

Anthony P. Scardino, Chief Financial Officer, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (Alternate).

Dated: September 25, 2013.

## Candi R. Bing,

Federal Register Coordinator.

[FR Doc. 2013–23807 Filed 9–30–13; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 7533-01-P

# NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

[NRC-2013-0224]

Biweekly Notice; Applications and Amendments to Facility Operating Licenses and Combined Licenses Involving No Significant Hazards Considerations

### **Background**

Pursuant to Section 189a. (2) of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended (the Act), the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory