marine protected area designed to conserve and protect the coral reef ecosystem and related natural and cultural resources of the area. The NWHI Reserve was established by Executive Order 13178 (12/00) and Executive Order 13196 (1/01) pursuant to the National Marine Sanctuaries Amendments Act of 2000 (Pub. L. 106-513). The Reserve was incorporated into Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument when the Monument was established in 2006 and is now also part of the Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument World Heritage site established by UNESCO in July, 2010.

The Reserve encompasses an area of the marine waters and submerged lands of the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands, extending approximately 1200 nautical miles long and 100 nautical miles wide. The Reserve is managed by the Secretary of Commerce pursuant to the National Marine Sanctuaries Act and the Executive Orders. The management principles and implementation strategy and requirements for the Reserve are found in the enabling Executive Orders, which are part of the application kit, and can be found on the Monument's Web site http://

www.papahanaumokuakea.gov.

In designating the Reserve, the Secretary of Commerce was directed to establish a Coral Reef Ecosystem Reserve Advisory Council, pursuant to section 315 of the National Marine Sanctuaries Act, to provide advice and recommendations on the management of the natural and cultural resources within the Reserve.

The Office of National Marine Sanctuaries has established the Reserve Advisory Council and is now accepting applications from interested individuals for Representatives and/or Alternates for each of the following citizen/constituent positions on the Council:

<sup>1</sup> 1. One (1) Native Hawaiian Representatives (Native Hawaiian).

2. One (1) Ocean-Related Tourism Representative (Ocean-Related Tourism).

3. One (1) Native Hawaiian (Elder) Alternate (Native Hawaiian)

3. Two (2) Native Hawaiian Alternates (Native Hawaiian).

4. One (1) Conservation Alternate (Conservation).

Current Reserve Council Representatives and Alternates may reapply for these vacant seats.

The Council consists of 25 members, 15 of which are non-government voting members (the State of Hawai'i representative is a voting member) and 10 of which are government non-voting members. The voting members are

representatives of the following constituencies: Conservation (2), Citizen-At-Large, Ocean-Related Tourism, Recreational Fishing, Research (3), Commercial Fishing, Education, State of Hawai'i and Native Hawaiian (3). The government non-voting seats are represented by the following agencies: Department of Defense, Department of the Interior., Department of State, Marine Mammal Commission, NOAA's Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary, NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service, National Science Foundation, U.S. Coast Guard, Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council, and NOAA's Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument.

Authority: 16 U.S.C. 1431, et seq.

(Federal Domestic Assistance Catalog Number 11.429 Marine Sanctuary Program)

Dated: December 7, 2011.

#### Daniel Basta,

Director, Office of National Marine Sanctuaries, National Ocean Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

[FR Doc. 2011–31915 Filed 12–13–11; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 3510–NK–M

## DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

## National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

# Availability of Seats for the Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council

**AGENCY:** Office of National Marine Sanctuaries (ONMS), National Ocean Service (NOS), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Department of Commerce (DOC).

**ACTION:** Notice and request for applications.

**SUMMARY:** The ONMS is seeking applications for the following vacant seats on the Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council: Community-at-Large: West Side of Tutuila, Community-at-Large: East Side of Tutuila, and Student (including youth). Applicants are chosen based upon their particular expertise and experience in relation to the seat for which they are applying; community and professional affiliations; philosophy regarding the protection and management of marine resources; and possibly the length of residence in the area affected by the sanctuary. Applicants who are chosen as Community-at-Large members should expect to serve 3-year terms, pursuant to the council's Charter. Applicants who

are chosen as Student members should expect to serve 2-year terms, pursuant to the council's Charter.

**DATES:** Applications are due by January 30, 2012.

**ADDRESSES:** Application kits may be obtained from Emily Gaskin, Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary, American Samoa Department of Commerce Office, Executive Office Building, Utulei. Completed applications should be returned to the same address.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Emily Gaskin at (684) 633–5155 ext. 271 or *emily.gaskin@noaa.gov*.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council was established in 1986 pursuant to Federal law to ensure continued public participation in the management of the sanctuary. The Sanctuary Advisory Council brings members of a diverse community together to provide advice to the Sanctuary Manager (delegated from the Secretary of Commerce and the Under Secretary for Oceans and Atmosphere) on the management and protection of the Sanctuary, or to assist the National Marine Sanctuary Program in guiding a proposed site through the designation or the periodic management plan review process.

**Authority:** 16 U.S.C. 1431, *et seq.* (Federal Domestic Assistance Catalog Number 11.429 Marine Sanctuary Program)

Dated: December 2, 2011.

#### Daniel Basta,

Director, Office of National Marine Sanctuaries, National Ocean Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

[FR Doc. 2011–31913 Filed 12–13–11; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 3510–NK–M

# DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

# National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

# RIN 0648-XA867

## Endangered Species; File No. 10022

**AGENCY:** National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Commerce.

**ACTION:** Notice; issuance of permit modification.

**SUMMARY:** Notice is hereby given that Raymond Carthy, University of Florida, Florida Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit, 117 Newins-Ziegler Hall, P.O. Box 110450, Gainesville, FL 32611,