be provided a maximum of five minutes to present their comments.

Minutes: Minutes will be available by writing or calling Patricia J. Halsey at the address and phone number listed above. Minutes will also be available at the following Web site: http://www.oakridge.doe.gov/em/ssab/minutes.htm.

Issued at Washington, DC on June 14, 2011. **LaTanya R. Butler**,

Acting Deputy Committee Management Officer.

[FR Doc. 2011–15413 Filed 6–20–11; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 6450–01–P

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy

Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee

AGENCY: Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Department of Energy.

ACTION: Notice of solicitation of nominations.

SUMMARY: In accordance with the Federal Advisory Committee Act, 5 U.S.C., App. 2, the U.S. Department of Energy is soliciting nominations for candidates to fill vacancies on the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee (Technical Advisory Committee).

DATES: The deadline for Technical Advisory Committee member nominations is July 15, 2011.

ADDRESSES: The nominee's name, resume, biography, and any letters of support must be submitted via one of the following methods:

(1) E-mail to

laura.mccann@ee.doe.gov.

- (2) Facsimile to 202–586–1640, *Attn:* Laura McCann.
- (3) Overnight delivery service to Laura McCann, Designated Federal Officer, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy, Mail Stop EE–2E, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW., Washington, DC 20585.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Laura McCann, Designated Federal Officer, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW., Washington, DC 20585; (202) 586–7766; E-mail: laura.mccann@ee.doe.gov.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The Biomass Research and Development Act of 2000 (Biomass Act) [Pub. L. 106–224] requires cooperation and coordination

in biomass research and development (R&D) between the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The Biomass Act was repealed and replaced in June 2008 by Section 9008 of the Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008 (FCEA) [Pub. L. 110–246, 122 Stat. 1651, enacted June 18, 2008, H.R. 6124].

FCEA section 9008(d) establishes the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee (Committee) and lays forth its meetings, coordination, duties, terms, and membership types. The Committee must meet quarterly and should not duplicate the efforts of other Federal advisory committees. The Committee advises the DOE and USDA points of contact with respect to the Biomass R&D Initiative (Initiative) and also makes written recommendations to the Biomass R&D Initiative (Initiative) and also makes written recommendations to the Biomass R&D Board (Board). Those recommendations regard whether: (A) Initiative funds are distributed and used consistent with Initiative objectives; (B) solicitations are open and competitive with awards made annually; (C) objectives and evaluation criteria of the solicitations are clear; and (D) the points of contact are funding proposals selected on the basis of merit, as determined by an independent panel of qualified peers.

The Committee members may serve up to two, three-year terms and must include: (A) An individual affiliated with the biofuels industry; (B) an individual affiliated with the biobased industrial and commercial products industry; (C) an individual affiliated with an institution of higher education who has expertise in biofuels and biobased products; (D) 2 prominent engineers or scientists from government or academia that have expertise in biofuels and biobased products; (E) an individual affiliated with a commodity trade association; (F) 2 individuals affiliated with environmental or conservation organizations; (G) an individual associated with State government who has expertise in biofuels and biobased products; (H) an individual with expertise in energy and environmental analysis; (I) an individual with expertise in the economics of biofuels and biobased products; (J) an individual with expertise in agricultural economics; (K) an individual with expertise in plant biology and biomass feedstock development; (L) an individual with expertise in agronomy, crop science, or soil science; and (M) at the option of the points of contact, other members (REF: FCEA 2008 section 9008(d)(2)(A)). All

nominees will be carefully reviewed for their expertise, leadership, and relevance to an expertise. Appointments will be made for three-year terms as dictated by the legislation.

Nominations this year are being accepted only for the following categories in order to address the Committee's needs: (E) An individual affiliated with a commodity trade association; (F) 2 individuals affiliated with environmental or conservation organizations; and (J) an individual with expertise in agricultural economics.

Nominations are solicited from organizations, associations, societies, councils, federations, groups, universities, and companies that represent a wide variety of biomass research and development interests throughout the country. Nominations for one individual who fits several of the categories listed above or for more than one person that fits one category will be accepted. In your nomination letter, please indicate the specific membership category for each nominee. Each nominee must submit their resume and biography along with any letters of support by the deadline above. If you were nominated in previous years, but were not appointed to the committee and would still like to be considered, all individuals must submit their nominations again during this notice and with all required materials. All nominees will be vetted before selection.

Nominations are open to all individuals without regard to race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, mental or physical handicap, marital status, or sexual orientation. To ensure that recommendations of the Technical Advisory Committee take into account the needs of the diverse groups served by DOE, membership shall include, to the extent practicable, individuals with demonstrated ability to represent minorities, women, and persons with disabilities. Please note, however, that Federally-registered lobbyists and individuals already serving on another Federal advisory committee are ineligible for nomination.

Appointments to the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee will be made by the Secretary of Energy and the Secretary of Agriculture.

Issued at Washington, DC, on June 15, 2011.

LaTanya R. Butler,

Acting Deputy Committee Management Officer.

[FR Doc. 2011–15410 Filed 6–20–11; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 6450–01–P